McCoy Tyner – Expansions (New Vinyl) (Blue Note Tone Poet)



New sealed copy. Blue Note Tone Poet Series. Remastered reissue on audiophile 180 gram black vinyl. Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio. Pressed at RTI.

Expansions is the tenth album by jazz pianist McCoy Tyner and his fourth released on the Blue Note label. It was recorded in August 1968 and features performances by Tyner with trumpeter Woody Shaw, alto saxophonist Gary Bartz, tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter, bassist Ron Carter (here playing cello), bassist Herbie Lewis and drummer Freddie Waits.

The AllMusic review by Scott Yanow stated: "The stimulating music falls between advanced hard bop and the avant-garde, pushing and pulling at the boundaries of modern mainstream jazz".


A1 Vision
A2 Song Of Happiness
B1 Smitty's Place
B2 Peresina
B3 I Thought I'd Let You Know

SKU: 602435268170