Thundercat – It Is What It Is (New Vinyl) (Red Vinyl)



New sealed copy. Red coloured vinyl.

It Is What It Is is the fourth studio album by American musician Thundercat, released through Brainfeeder on April 3, 2020. It was preceded by five singles: "King of the Hill," which was released as a single from the label's compilation album Brainfeeder X in 2018, and "Black Qualls," "Dragonball Durag," "Fair Chance," and "Innerstellar Love," the latter four being released in 2020. The track "Unrequited Love" had previously been used in an episode of the anime Carole & Tuesday in 2019. The album was executive produced by Thundercat and Flying Lotus, and features guest appearances from Louis Cole, Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, Childish Gambino, Ty Dolla Sign, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, BadBadNotGood, and Zack Fox.

It Is What It Is received critical acclaim, with critics praising Thundercat's typical sense of humor in his lyrics and bass playing, as well as Thundercat's way of expressing emotions, particularly his grief over the loss of long-time close friend and collaborator Mac Miller, which feeds into many of the musical and lyrical elements of the album. The title track of the album contains a vocal sample from the late Miller; Thundercat also dedicated the album in his memory.

The album won Best Progressive R&B Album at the 63rd Annual Grammy Awards, beating out fellow nominees Jhené Aiko, Chloe x Halle, Free Nationals, and Robert Glasper.


A1 Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
A2 Innerstellar Love
A3 I Love Louis Cole
A4 Black Qualls
A5 Miguel's Happy Dance
A6 How Sway
A7 Funny Thing
B1 Overseas
B2 Dragonball Durag
B3 How I Feel
B4 King Of The Hill
B5 Unrequited Love
B6 Fair Chance
B7 Existential Dread
B8 It Is What It Is

SKU: 5054429140439