Them – Them Again (New Vinyl)

$23.95 Regular price $29.95


New sealed copy. 2016 50th Anniversary mono remastered reissue. Lacquer cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearant Audio. 180 gram heavyweight vinyl.

Them Again is the second album by the Northern Irish band, Them, whose lead singer and songwriter was Van Morrison. The album was released by Decca Records in the UK on 21 January 1966 but it failed to chart. In the U.S. it was released in April 1966 where it peaked at #138 on the Billboard charts.

Two of the original Van Morrison songs included on the album, "My Lonely Sad Eyes" and "Hey Girl", can be seen as precursors to the poetic musings of Morrison's later Astral Weeks album, released in 1968. "My Lonely Sad Eyes" begins with the words, "Fill me my cup, and I'll drink your sparkling wine/Pretend that everything is fine, 'til I see your sad eyes." The title implies that the sad eyes belong to the singer but the lyrics address the singer's love interest. The song "Hey Girl" has a pastoral feel to it, enhanced by the addition of flutes and in Brian Hinton's opinion is a "dry run for 'Cyprus Avenue'" from Astral Weeks. The cover version of Bob Dylan's "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue", is considered by author Clinton Heylin to be "that genuine rarity, a Dylan cover to match the original." Among the Van Morrison originals and cover versions found on the album, four of producer Tommy Scott's original compositions are also included.

Like "Gloria" from the first LP, "I Can Only Give You Everything" became popular with other groups, and was performed by a number of US garage bands. It was recorded by numerous acts including The Troggs, The Liverpool Five, The Haunted, The Little Boy Blues, The MC5, The Clefs, Richard Hell, and Little Bob Story.


A1 Could You Would You
A2 Something You Got
A3 Call My Name
A4 Turn On Your Love Light
A5 I Put A Spell On You
A6 I Can Only Give You Everything
A7 My Lonely Sad Eyes
A8 I Got A Woman
B1 Out Of Sight
B2 It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
B3 Bad Or Good
B4 How Long Baby
B5 Hello Josephine
B6 Don't You Know
B7 Hey Girl
B8 Bring 'Em On In

SKU: 0888751607217