The Who – Tommy (New Vinyl) (Deluxe Edition)



New sealed copy. 2014 deluxe edition remastered reissue. Remastered by Kevin Gray. Gatefold jacket with 12 page booklet.

Tommy is the fourth studio album by the English rock band The Who, a double album first released on 19 May 1969. The album was mostly composed by guitarist Pete Townshend, and is a rock opera that tells the story of Tommy Walker. Tommy is traumatized from witnessing his father murder his mother's lover. Tommy's parents compound his trauma by denying the experience. In reaction, Tommy becomes dissociative ("deaf, dumb and blind"). Tommy then experiences the trauma of being sexually abused. As a way of coping with his trauma, Tommy dissociates further through playing pinball. He gains a following because of his skill at playing pinball. After numerous misguided attempts to heal Tommy, a doctor prescribes him a mirror so he can confront himself and his experience. Instead, Tommy becomes self-absorbed and comes to think of himself as a messianic figure. When the mirror is eventually broken, Tommy comes out of his dissociative state. Tommy then tries to lead his followers to believe that the only path to healing is through him. His followers eventually reject him and his teachings.

After delays surrounding the cover artwork, Tommy was released on 19 May 1969 in the US by Decca and 23 May in the UK by Track Records. The original double album was configured with sides 1 and 4 on one disc, and sides 2 and 3 on the other, to accommodate record changers.

The album was commercially successful, reaching No. 2 in the UK album charts. It peaked at No. 7 in the US in 1969, but in 1970 it re-entered the charts, at which time it went on to peak at No. 4. It sold 200,000 copies in the first two weeks in the US alone, and was awarded a gold record for sales of 500,000 on 18 August. "Pinball Wizard", "I'm Free" and "See Me, Feel Me" were released as singles and received airplay on the radio. "Pinball Wizard" reached the top 20 in the US and the top five in the UK. "See Me, Feel Me" reached the top 20 in the US and "I'm Free" reached the top 40. An EP of selections from the album was planned to be released in the UK in November 1970, but was withdrawn. As of 2012, Tommy has sold 20 million copies worldwide.


A1 Overture
A2 It's A Boy
A3 1921
A4 Amazing Journey
A5 Sparks
A6 The Hawker
B1 Christmas
B2 Cousin Kevin
B3 The Acid Queen
B4 Underture 
C1 Do You Think It's Alright?
C2 Fiddle About
C3 Pinball Wizard
C4 There's A Doctor
C5 Go To The Mirror!
C6 Tommy Can You Hear Me?
C7 Smash The Mirror
C8 Sensation
D1 Miracle Cure 
D2 Sally Simpson
D3 I'm Free
D4 Welcome
D5 Tommy's Holiday Camp
D6 We're Not Gonna Take It

SKU: 0602537157495