The Verve – No Come Down (B-sides & Outtakes) (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 30th anniversary RSD 2024 exclusive reissue. Made in Germany.

No Come Down is a compilation album of B-sides and outtakes by The Verve, released in 1994 for Vernon Yard and Hut Recordings. It was the first release on which the original band's name Verve was changed to The Verve due to conflict with the jazz record label Verve.

"No Come Down", "Where the Geese Go", "Twilight", and "Six O'Clock" are outtakes from the sessions for the group's first album, A Storm in Heaven, and first appeared on B-sides to singles from that album. "Blue" is presented in a different (vocally upfront) "USA Mix" - released to coincide with Verve's participation in Lollapalooza. Another outtake from the band's debut album is an earlier and folkier alternate version of "Make It 'Til Monday". The "acoustic" version of "Butterfly" is actually the same take as the album version but without the lead electric guitar overdubs and with a different, earlier vocal. "One Way to Go" predates the rest of the songs on the album and is taken from the B-side to the band's first single, "All in the Mind" (it was omitted the Verve's first U.S. release, Verve EP). "Gravity Grave" is also of a slightly earlier vintage, with the version included here having been recorded live at Glastonbury Festival. This version of "Gravity Grave" is closer to the protracted single release than it is to the earlier U.S. EP version.


A1        No Come Down    
A2        Blue (USA Mix)    
A3        Make It Till Monday (Acoustic)    
A4        Butterfly (Acoustic)    
A5        Where The Geese Go    
A6        6 O'Clock    
B7        One Way To Go    
B8        Gravity Grave (Live Glastonbury 93)    
B9        Twilight


SKU: 0602458644371