The Velvet Underground & Nico ‎– The Velvet Underground & Nico (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2021 repress of the 50th Anniversary reissue. 180 gram black vinyl.

The Velvet Underground & Nico is the debut album by American rock band the Velvet Underground and German singer Nico, released in March 1967 by Verve Records. It was recorded in 1966 while the band were featured on Andy Warhol's Exploding Plastic Inevitable tour. The album features experimental performance sensibilities and controversial lyrical topics, including drug abuse, prostitution, sadomasochism and sexual deviancy. It sold poorly and was mostly ignored by contemporary critics, but later became regarded as one of the most influential albums in the history of popular music.

Many subgenres of rock music and forms of alternative music were informed by the album, including art rock, punk, garage, shoegazing, goth, and indie. In 1982, musician Brian Eno stated that while the album only sold approximately 30,000 copies in its first five years, "everyone who bought one of those 30,000 copies started a band!" In 2003, it ranked 13th on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the "500 Greatest Albums of All Time", and in 2006, it was inducted into the National Recording Registry by the Library of Congress.


A1 Sunday Morning

A2 I'm Waiting For The Man

A3 Femme Fatale

A4 Venus In Furs

A5 Run, Run, Run

A6 All Tomorrow's Parties

B1 Heroin

B2 There She Goes Again

B3 I'll Be Your Mirror

B4 The Black Angel's Death Song

B5 European Son European Son 

SKU: 0042282329011