The Smiths – Meat Is Murder (New Vinyl) (Import)



New sealed copy. 2012 remastered reissue. UK import. Pressed at Optimal Media GmbH in Germany. Includes printed inner sleeve with credits and lyrics.

Meat Is Murder is the second studio album by English rock band the Smiths, released on 11 February 1985 by Rough Trade Records. It became the band's only studio album to reach number one on the UK Albums Chart, and stayed on the chart for 13 weeks. The album was an international success: it spent 11 weeks in the European Top 100 Albums chart, peaking at number 29. It also reached number 110 on the US Billboard 200, in the United States.

The album was more strident and political than its predecessor, including the pro-vegetarian title track (Morrissey forbade the rest of the group from being photographed eating meat), and the anti-corporal punishment "The Headmaster Ritual". Musically, the band had grown more adventurous, with Marr and Rourke channelling rockabilly and funk influences in "Rusholme Ruffians" and "Barbarism Begins at Home" respectively. "Rusholme Ruffians" interpolates the Victoria Wood song "Fourteen Again". Author John King has suggested that the title track was inspired by the 1983 song "Meat Means Murder" by the anarcho-punk band Conflict, which deals with the same topic and also opens at a slow pace.


A1 The Headmaster Ritual 
A2 Rusholme Ruffians 
A3 I Want The One I Can't Have 
A4 What She Said 
A5 That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore 
B1 Nowhere Fast 
B2 Well I Wonder 
B3 Barbarism Begins At Home 
B4 Meat Is Murder

SKU: 0825646658787