The Smile – A Light For Attracting Attention (New Vinyl) (Indie Exclusive) (Limited Edition) (Yellow Vinyl)



New sealed copy. Limited edition independent record store exclusive on yellow coloured vinyl. Gatefold jacket with printed inner sleeves. Mastered by Bob Ludwig and pressed in the Czech Republic.

A Light for Attracting Attention is the debut album by the English rock band the Smile. It was digitally released through XL Recordings on 13 May, 2022, with a physical release set for June 17th, 2022.

The Smile comprises Radiohead members Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood with Sons of Kemet drummer Tom Skinner. The album was produced by Nigel Godrich, Radiohead's longtime producer. The Smile worked during the COVID-19 lockdowns and made their surprise debut in a performance streamed by Glastonbury Festival in May 2021. In early 2022, they released five singles and performed to an audience for the first time at three shows in London in January, which were livestreamed. They began a European tour in May. So far, A Light for Attracting Attention has received critical acclaim.

Pitchfork awarded it their "best new music" accolade, with the critic Ryan Dombal writing that it was "instantly, unmistakably the best album yet by a Radiohead side project". In June 2022, Spin named A Light for Attracting Attention the best album of the year so far; the critic Zach Schonfeld wrote that it was Yorke and Greenwood's best work since the 2007 Radiohead album In Rainbows, and that "it almost makes you want to send Radiohead’s other three members a sympathy card".


A1 The Same
A2 The Opposite
A3 You Will Never Work In Television Again
B4 Pana-Vision
B5 The Smoke
B6 Speech Bubbles
C7 Thin Thing
C8 Open The Floodgates
C9 Free In The Knowledge
D10 A Hairdryer
D11 Waving A White Flag
D12 We Don't Know What Tomorrow Brings
D13 Skrting On The Surface

SKU: 191404119600