The Gaslight Anthem – American Slang (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2024 repress. Gatefold jacket.

American Slang is the third studio album by New Jersey–based rock group the Gaslight Anthem. It was released on June 15, 2010, on SideOneDummy Records, which released their previous album, The '59 Sound. The album was produced by 'The '59 Sound producer Ted Hutt.

Lead singer and songwriter Brian Fallon stated in a New York City in-studio session, "All these songs came to me in my head. I didn't sit down at the guitar or piano or write lyrics, they all just were kind of there one day." Fallon said that American Slang would move away from the 1950s-inspired sound of The '59 Sound. He began writing for the new album in the summer of 2009 while on tour in support of The '59 Sound. "American Slang is just what we do. That's who we are," Fallon said. "You’re presented with this American Dream and all these American possibilities—and then there's the reality of what actually happens with your life." In response to the obvious influences Tom Waits, The Clash, The Supremes, and most notably Bruce Springsteen had on their previous records, he went on to add, "This [record] is really the one where we said, ‘All right, well, we’ve got our influences. They’ll speak naturally, but what do we have to say on our own? What does it feel like to put on our own shoes and clothes? What do we sound like, and what's our story?’"

The album was released on June 15, 2010, on SideOneDummy Records, the band's second release for the label. The album opened at No. 16 on the Billboard 200, making it the band's highest charting album at the time. It sold over 26,000 copies in its first week of release. It also debuted at No. 18 and No. 12 on the U.K. and Canadian charts, respectively. The band released the first single from the album, "American Slang", on their Facebook page on March 23, 2010, along with a full track list and cover art.


1        American Slang    
2        Stay Lucky    
3        Bring It On    
4        The Diamond Church Street Choir    
5        The Queen Of Lower Chelsea    
6        Orphans    
7        Boxer    
8        Old Haunts    
9        The Spirit Of Jazz    
10       We Did It When We Were Young

SKU: 0603967141818