The Decemberists – Picaresque (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy.

Picaresque is the third studio album from The Decemberists. It was released in 2005 on the Kill Rock Stars record label. The word "picaresque" refers to a form of satirical prose originating in Spain, depicting realistically and often humorously the adventures of a low-born, roguish hero living by their wits in a corrupt society.

The album was recorded at the Prescott Church in northeast Portland, which the band rented for one month in the summer of 2004. To facilitate the creative process and avoid creative block, band members filled a used bike helmet with slips of paper listing strategies and ideas to try out. Non-traditional rock instruments used in the album's recording included an accordion and a hurdy-gurdy. The album was produced by Chris Walla, also the guitarist for the band Death Cab for Cutie.

Picaresque has a rating of 81/100 on Metacritic, indicating "universal acclaim." The album reached number 5 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart, and number 128 on the Billboard 200. Pitchfork placed Picaresque at number 143 on their list of top 200 albums of the 2000s.


A1 The Infanta 
A2 We Both Go Down Together 
A3 Eli, The Barrowboy 
A4 The Sporting Life 
B1 The Bagman's Gambit 
B2 From My Own True Love (Lost At Sea) 
B3 16 Military Wives 
B4 The Engine Driver
C1 On The Bus Mall 
C2 Mariner's Revenge Song
C3 Of Angels And Angles

D1 The Bandit Queen (With "Dialogue" And "Tap Dancing")
D2 Bridges And Balloons
D3 Constantinople 
D4 The Kingdom Of Spain (Version Prescott) 
D5 The Bandit Queen (Version Prescott)

SKU: 759656042512