Sufjan Stevens – Javelin (New Vinyl) (Limited Edition) (Lemonade Vinyl)



New sealed copy. Independent record store exclusive on lemonade yellow coloured vinyl. Packaged in a wide-spined sleeve. Includes a 48-page book of original artwork and essays by Sufjan Stevens.

Javelin is the tenth studio album by American musician Sufjan Stevens. It was released on October 6, 2023, through Asthmatic Kitty. Stevens created the record mostly by himself in his home studio with contributions by several friends, including harmonies provided by Adrienne Maree Brown, Hannah Cohen, Pauline Delassus, Megan Lui, and Nedelle Torrisi, among others. Additionally, The National guitarist Bryce Dessner played acoustic and electric guitar on the record. According to a press release, the album sees the artist returning to "full singer-songwriter mode" for the first time since his 2015 studio album Carrie & Lowell. It further states that Javelin might feel like a "big team" production at times but assures the listener that every track is a product of Stevens "at home", "building by himself" and creating a sentiment of "'70s Los Angeles studio opulence". The album is dedicated to his late partner, Evans Richardson.

The lead single "So You Are Tired", a "major shift back to the scaled-down, acoustic instrumentation" of Carrie & Lowell, was released on August 14, 2023. While Sufjan penned nine of the tracks on his own, the project also features a cover of Neil Young's "There's a World" from his 1972 album Harvest. The album release was accompanied by a 48-page book of "imaginative visual" art and 10 short essays tied to the songs.


A1 Goodbye Evergreen
A2 A Running Start
A3 Will Anybody Ever Love Me?
A4 Everything That Rises
A5 Genuflecting Ghost
B1 My Red Little Fox
B2 So You Are Tired
B3 Javelin
B4 Shit Talk
B5 There's A World

SKU: 0729920165919