Spiritualized – Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2021 remastered reissue on 180 gram black vinyl with alternate album art in a gatefold jacket.

Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space is the third studio album by English space rock band Spiritualized, released on 16 June 1997. The album features guest appearances from the Balanescu Quartet, The London Community Gospel Choir and Dr. John.

The album itself was recorded shortly after the break-up of Spiritualized's Jason Pierce and Kate Radley, the band's keyboard player. Radley had secretly married Richard Ashcroft of The Verve in 1995. Pierce, however, maintains that much of the album, including "Broken Heart" and "Cool Waves", had been written before the breakup. "If you write a song like [Broken Heart], you have to make it feel like what it's like to have a broken heart," he said. "That's what making albums is all about. Otherwise it's just field recordings."

Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space was released to widespread acclaim from music critics. NME critic Paul Moody hailed the album as a "seismic tour de force" and credited Jason Pierce for taking cues from his vast array of musical influences to create an "entirely new noise out of the wreckage", while Melody Maker praised it as "one mind-blowing perspective-fusing supernova of an album... that redefines notions of bittersweet and love-hate to the point where everyday emotions seem very small indeed." The album went on to be named the NME album of the year at the end of 1997, beating other critically acclaimed albums such as Radiohead's OK Computer and The Verve's Urban Hymns. Select and Vox named Ladies and Gentlemen the second best album of the year, while Melody Maker and The Face named it the fifth best. The album ranked at number 13 on Uncut's year-end list, and Q named it as one of the year's 50 best albums.


A1 Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space
A2 Come Together
A3 I Think I'm In Love
B1 All Of My Thoughts
B2 Stay With Me
B3 Electricity
B4 Home Of The Brave
C1 The Individual
C2 Broken Heart
C3 No God Only Religion
C4 Cool Waves
D1 Cop Shoot Cop…

SKU: 0767981175317