Slowdive – Souvlaki (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2011 reissue on 180 gram black vinyl.

Souvlaki is the second studio album by English rock band Slowdive. It was recorded in 1992, and released on 1 June 1993 by Creation Records.

On its initial release, Souvlaki peaked at number 51 on the UK Albums Chart and was greeted with tepid reviews from critics. It has since received retrospective critical acclaim and has been hailed as a classic of the shoegaze genre. In a retrospective review for AllMusic, Jack Rabid praised the album as "quiet, moving, and aggressive simultaneously, mixing trance-like beauty with the deepest delayed guitar sounds around, a sound at once relaxing, soothing, and exciting, and most of all harshly beautiful." Nitsuh Abebe of Pitchfork described it as "a bit of an Essential Slowdive in itself", with songs that are simultaneously "pillowy-soft and passionately deep". Paste's Zach Schonfeld called Souvlaki "the definitive shoegaze statement".

In 1999, critic Ned Raggett ranked Souvlaki at number 83 on his list of the best albums of the 1990s for Freaky Trigger. Pitchfork released a documentary about the album in 2015 as part of its Pitchfork Classic series. The following year, the website listed Souvlaki as the second best shoegaze album of all time.


A1 Alison 
A2 Machine Gun 
A3 40 Days 
A4 Sing
A5 Here She Comes
B1 Souvlaki Space Station
B2 When The Sun Hits 
B3 Altogether 
B4 Melon Yellow 
B5 Dagger

SKU: 8713748982256