Sigur Rós – Ágætis Byrjun (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2021 reissue.

Ágætis Byrjun is the second studio album by Icelandic post-rock band Sigur Rós, released on 12 June 1999. The album was recorded between the summer of 1998 and the spring of 1999 with producer Ken Thomas. Ágætis byrjun represented a substantial departure from the band's previous album Von, with that album's extended ambient soundscapes replaced by Jónsi Birgisson's cello-bowed guitarwork and orchestration, using a double string octet amongst other chamber elements.

Ágætis byrjun became Sigur Rós's breakthrough album, both commercially and critically. It received a 2000 release in the United Kingdom and a 2001 release in the United States. According to their label Smekkleysa, the album sold 10,000 copies on its first year of release in Iceland, earning the band platinum status. It won numerous awards, and has appeared on multiple critics' lists of the best albums of the 2000s.


A1 Svefn-g-englar
A2 Starálfur
B1 Flugufrelsarinn
B2 Ný Batterí
C1 Hjartað Hamast (Bamm Bamm Bamm)
C2 Viðrar Vel Til Loftárása
D1 Olsen Olsen
D2 Ágætis Byrjun
D3 Avalon

SKU: 0190296805387