Sade – Promise (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2024 remastered reissue on Epic Records. Half-speed mastered at Abbey Road Studios. 180 gram vinyl. The original album sleeve and packaging elements have been meticulously reproduced in exact detail with authentic paper and printing methods.

Promise is the second studio album by English band Sade, released in the United Kingdom on 4 November 1985 by Epic Records and in the United States on 15 November 1985 by Portrait Records. Recording for the album began in February and lasted until August 1985. The band co-produced the album with the same team of producers they worked with on their debut album, Diamond Life, including Robin Millar, Mike Pela and Ben Rogan. The album's title comes from a letter from Sade Adu's father where he refers to the "promise of hope" to recover from cancer.

The album was a commercial success, peaking at number one on both the UK Albums Chart and the US Billboard 200, becoming the band's first album to top both charts. It also reached number one in Finland, the Netherlands and Switzerland, and the top five in numerous countries, including Canada, Germany and New Zealand. The album spawned three singles, including "The Sweetest Taboo", which became a success worldwide.


A1        Is It A Crime    
A2        The Sweetest Taboo    
A3        War Of The Hearts    
A4        Jezebel    
B1        Mr Wrong    
B2        Never As Good As The First Time
B3        Fear
B4        Tar Baby
B5        Maureen

SKU: 0196587848118