Sade – Diamond Life (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2024 remastered reissue on Epic Records. Half-speed mastered at Abbey Road Studios. 180 gram vinyl. The original album sleeve and packaging elements have been meticulously reproduced in exact detail with authentic paper and printing methods.

Diamond Life is the debut studio album by English band Sade, released in the United Kingdom on 16 July 1984 by Epic Records and in the United States on 27 February 1985 by Portrait Records. After studying fashion design, and later modelling, Sade Adu began backup-singing with British band Pride. During this time Adu and three of the original members of "Pride"—Paul Anthony Cook, Paul Denman and Stuart Matthewman—left the group to form their own band called Sade. After various demos and performances, Sade received interest from record labels and signed to Epic.

Recording for the album began in 1983 at Power Plant Studios in London and took six weeks to complete. The album's content was written by the group Sade and the production was handled by Robin Millar. Fifteen songs were recorded. The album contained a variety of musical elements including soul, jazz and sophisti-pop, mostly with love lyrics. The album spawned four singles, including "Your Love Is King" and "Smooth Operator".

Diamond Life received widespread acclaim from music critics and it was also a commercial success, winning the 1985 Brit Award for Best British Album. The album reached number two on the UK Albums Chart and number five on the US Billboard 200, and has been certified multi-platinum in both countries. Diamond Life sold over 10 million copies worldwide, becoming one of the top-selling debut recordings of the era and the best-selling debut album by a British female vocalist, a record that stood for 24 years.


A1        Smooth Operator
A2        Your Love Is King    
A3        Hang On To Your Love    
A4        Frankie's First Affair    
A5        When Am I Going To Make A Living    
B1        Cherry Pie
B2        Sally    
B3        I Will Be Your Friend    
B4        Why Can't We Live Together

SKU: 0196587848019