Rush – Permanent Waves (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. Remastered reissue on extra heavyweight 200 gram black vinyl.

Permanent Waves is the seventh studio album by the Canadian rock band Rush, released on January 14, 1980, through Anthem Records. After touring to support their previous album, Hemispheres (1978), the band began working on new material for a follow-up album in July 1979. This material showed a shift in the group's sound towards more concise arrangements and radio friendly songs (such as "The Spirit of Radio" and "Freewill"), though their progressive rock blueprint is still evident with "Jacob's Ladder" and the over nine-minute closer "Natural Science". Bassist/vocalist Geddy Lee also employed a more restrained vocal delivery compared to previous albums. Permanent Waves was recorded in 1979 at Le Studio in Morin-Heights, Quebec with production handled by the group and Terry Brown.

Permanent Waves received a mostly positive reception from critics, and became the band's most successful album at the time of release, reaching No. 3 in Canada and the UK and No. 4 in the US. The album was certified platinum in the latter by the Recording Industry Association of America for selling one million copies. Rush released "The Spirit of Radio" as a single in February 1980 and toured in support of the album in 1979 and 1980.


A1 The Spirit Of Radio
A2 Freewill
A3 Jacob's Ladder
B1 Entre Nous
B2 Different Strings
Natural Science
B3-I Tide Pools
B3-II Hyperspace
B3-III Permanent Waves