Roxy Music – Roxy Music (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2022 remastered reissue. Half-speed mastered from the original 1/4" master tapes by Miles Showel at Abbey Road Studios. Pressed in Germany by Optimal Media.

Roxy Music is the debut studio album by English rock band Roxy Music, released on 16 June 1972 by Island Records. 

Reviewing for Creem in 1973, Robert Christgau said: "From the drag queen on the cover to the fop finery in the centerfold to the polished deformity of the music on the record, this celebrates the kind of artifice that could come to seem as unhealthy as the sheen on a piece of rotten meat. Right now, though, it's decorated with enough weird hooks to earn an A for side one. Side two leans a little too heavily on the synthesizer (played by a balding, long-haired eunuch lookalike named Eno) without the saving grace of drums and bassline."

Around the time of the release of Roxy Music's third album Stranded, Ferry was quoted as saying that he did not like the odd production of Roxy Music and was re-recording many of its tracks. Ferry eventually re-recorded "Re-Make/Re-Model", "2HB", "Chance Meeting" and "Sea Breezes", and released them as B-sides to some of his solo singles between 1973 and 1976, collecting them together on his 1976 solo album Let's Stick Together.

In 1994, Roxy Music was ranked number 57 in Colin Larkin's All Time Top 1000 Albums. He described the album as "totally original and a breath of bizarre air", noting that it "put Bryan Ferry and Eno at the forefront of the art-rock movement." In 2003, Rolling Stone included the album at number 62 in its list of the best debut albums of all time and stated: "In England in the early Seventies, there was nerdy art-rock and sexy glam-rock and rarely did the twain meet. Until this record, that is." Uncut placed it at number nine on its 2015 list of the best debut albums. In 2005, Q included Roxy Music at number 31 in a list of "40 Cosmic Rock Albums" published in its special issue Pink Floyd & the Story of Prog Rock. In 2012, Treble named it as one of 10 "essential" glam rock albums.


A1        Remake / Re-Model    
A2        Ladytron    
A3        If There Is Something    
A4        2HB    
B1        The Bob (Medley)    
B2        Chance Meeting    
B3        Would You Believe?    
B4        Sea Breezes   
B5        Bitters End

SKU: 0602507460211