Real Estate – In Mind (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. Gold foil jacket (first pressing).

In Mind is the fourth studio album by American indie rock band Real Estate, released on March 17, 2017, on Domino Records. It is the band's first album since founding member Matt Mondanile's departure, and the first with his replacement as lead guitarist, Julian Lynch. 

Prior to Lynch joining Real Estate, the band had already started working on songs as a four-piece in Beacon, New York, where Courtney had recently relocated with his wife and their two young daughters. The other band members stayed at an Airbnb down the road from Courtney's residence, and every morning the band would walk to a rented practice space, Cassandra Studio, inside an old high school to work. They recorded full band demos at the practice space with the help of Jarvis Taveniere from the band Woods, in which songs that didn't have lead guitar parts provided by Courtney left space for more prominent keyboard and bass parts. A month after the initial two-week demo sessions, the band returned to Beacon with Lynch on board for another week of work, in which Lynch added textural elements if a song didn't require further lead guitar playing from him.

To produce the album, the band chose to work with Cole M.G.N. According to Bleeker, “We wanted to work with Cole because overall on this record, our goal was to use the studio as an instrument a bit more than we had on previous records." Since Cole insisted on working in Los Angeles, the band rented a house in Los Feliz, and recording took place in June 2016 at Lucy's Meat Market in Eagle Rock. During recording, the band allowed Cole more control compared to previous producers they had worked with, a first for the band. According to Courtney, “Cole played more of a traditional producer role, where we would talk about the arrangements of the songs, and we would talk about song structure and stuff together.”

The album's title was chosen via group text discussion, in which around fifty "progressively dumber" names were proposed before drummer Jackson Pollis suggested In Mind.


A1 Darling
A2 Serve The Song
A3 Stained Glass
A4 After The Moon
A5 Two Arrows
B1 White Light
B2 Holding Pattern
B3 Time
B4 Diamond Eyes
B5 Same Sun
B6 Saturday

SKU: 887828037810