Ray Charles – Ray Charles (New Vinyl) (Limited Edition) (Clear Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2023 Atlantic 75 mono reissue on crystal clear vinyl.

Ray Charles is the debut studio album by American pianist, vocalist, and band leader Ray Charles. Originally released in June 1957 on Atlantic Records, it was re-released under the title Hallelujah I Love Her So in 1962.

Although routinely identified as a debut album, Ray Charles could more accurately be identified as a greatest hits compilation, as all tracks had been previously issued and no fewer than 11 of its 14 tracks had been top 10 hits on the R&B chart between 1953 and 1957. In order, they were: "Mess Around" (#3, 1953), "Don't You Know" (#10, 1954), "I Got a Woman" (#1, 1955), "Come Back" (#4, 1955), "This Little Girl of Mine" (#9, 1955), "A Fool for You" (#1, 1955), "Greenbacks" (#5, 1955), "Drown in My Own Tears" (#1, 1956), "Mary Ann" (#1, 1956), "Hallelujah I Love Her So" (#5, 1956) and "Ain't That Love" (#9, early 1957).

The three remaining tracks ("Funny (But I Still Love You)", "Sinner's Prayer" and "Losing Hand") were non-charting B-sides originally issued in 1953–54. No tracks were recorded specifically for an album release.


A1 Ain't That Love
A2 Drown In My Own Tears
A3 Come Back Baby
A4 Sinner's Prayer
A5 Funny (But I Still Love You)
A6 Losing Hand
A7 A Fool For You
B1 Hallelujah I Love Her So
B2 Mess Around
B3 This Little Girl Of Mine
B4 Mary Ann
B5 Greenbacks
B6 Don't You Know
B7 I Got A Woman

SKU: 0603497837496