R.E.M. ‎– Murmur (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2009 remastered reissue on 180 gram black vinyl.

Murmur is the debut studio album by American alternative rock band R.E.M., released on April 12, 1983 by I.R.S. Records. Murmur drew critical acclaim upon its release for its unusual sound, defined by lead singer Michael Stipe's cryptic lyrics, guitarist Peter Buck's jangly guitar style, and bass guitarist Mike Mills' melodic basslines.

Murmur's sound characterized the quieter, introverted side of the first wave of alternative rock in the United States. The sound was new at the time, though not stepping beyond the constructs of traditional rock music. The guitars have a bright, ring-like chime that brought on comparisons to the Byrds, and the bass guitar has the bright punchy sound of the Rickenbacker favored by Mike Mills. Mills carries much of the melodic element of the music on the bass, contributing to the moody sound of early R.E.M. albums. Also contributing to this sound is the distant singing of Michael Stipe whose obscure lyrics, sung indistinctly, lend to the mystery and depth of the music.


A1 Radio Free Europe

A2 Pilgrimage

A3 Laughing

A4 Talk About The Passion

A5 Moral Kiosk

A6 Perfect Circle

B1 Catapult

B2 Sitting Still

B3 9-9

B4 Shaking Through

B5 We Walk

B6 West Of The Fields

SKU: 0602527070056