R.E.M. – Collapse Into Now (New Vinyl)

$32.95 Regular price $37.95
Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2023 reissue on 180 gram vinyl. Lacquer re-cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearant Audio. Pressed at Memphis Record Pressing.

Collapse into Now is the fifteenth and final studio album by American alternative rock band R.E.M., released on March 7, 2011, on Warner Bros. Produced by Jacknife Lee, who previously worked with the band on Accelerate (2008), the album was preceded by the singles "It Happened Today," "Mine Smell Like Honey," "Überlin" and "Oh My Heart".

Regarding the album's title, lead singer Michael Stipe noted, "It's the final thing I sing, the last song on the record before the record goes into a coda and reprises the first song. In my head, it's like I'm addressing a nine-year-old and I'm saying, 'I come from a faraway place called the 20th century. And these are the values and these are the mistakes we've made and these are the triumphs. These are the things that we held in the highest esteem. These are the things to learn from."

As of September 2011, the album had sold 142,000 copies in the United States. At the time of the band's breakup, bassist Mike Mills noted that the album's lyrical content contained "indications" that the band were planning to split. In 2019, the band was more forthright on the hints they were making via the album: "That's the record where we put ourselves on the cover for the first time and I'm waving goodbye, and nobody got it," said Stipe in 2019. "We were saying, 'This is it, sayonara, we're out of here.'"


A1 Discoverer
A2 All The Best 
A3 Überlin 
A4 Oh My Heart 
A5 It Happened Today
A6 Every Day Is Yours To Win

B1 Mine Smell Like Honey 
B2 Walk It Back 
B3 Alligator_Aviator_Autopilot_Antimatter
B4 That Someone Is You 
B5 Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando And I
B6 Blue

SKU: 0888072426306