Public Enemy – Yo! Bum Rush The Show (New Vinyl) (Limited Edition) (Fruit Punch Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2023 limited edition reissue on fruit punch coloured vinyl.

Yo! Bum Rush the Show is the debut studio album by American hip hop group Public Enemy, released on February 10, 1987. It was recorded at Spectrum City Studios in Hempstead, New York, and became one of the fastest-selling hip hop records, but was controversial among radio stations and critics, in part due to lead rapper Chuck D's black nationalist politics. Despite this, the album has since been regarded as one of hip hop's greatest and most influential records.

The album debuts The Bomb Squad's sample-heavy production style, which is prominent on the group's later work. Joe Brown of The Washington Post described the album's music as "a more serious brand of inner-city aggression", in comparison to Licensed to Ill (1986) by Def Jam label-mates the Beastie Boys. On its musical style, Brown wrote "Public Enemy's mean and minimalist rap is marked by an absolute absence of melody – the scary sound is just a throbbing pulse, hard drums and a designed-to-irritate electronic whine, like a dentist's drill or a persistent mosquito". The album's sound is accented by the scratching of DJ Terminator X. Chicago Tribune writer Daniel Brogan described Public Enemy's style on the album as "raw and confrontational", writing that the group "doesn't aim to – or have a chance at – crossing over".


E Side
A1 You're Gonna Get Yours
A2 Sophisticated Bitch
A3 Miuzi Weighs A Ton
A4 Timebomb
A5 Too Much Posse
A6 Rightstarter (Message To A Black Man)

F Side
B1 Public Enemy No. 1
B2 M.P.E.
B3 Yo! Bum Rush The Show
B4 Raise The Roof
B5 Megablast
B6 Terminator X Speaks With His Hands

SKU: 0602455795328