Primus – Suck On This (New Vinyl) (Cobalt Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2021 reissue on cobalt blue coloured vinyl.

Suck on This is a live album by the band Primus, released in 1989. At the time of recording, the featured lineup of bassist/vocalist Les Claypool, guitarist Larry LaLonde and drummer Tim Alexander had only been playing together for "about two months". This release, along with Jane's Addiction's self-titled live album, are seen as popularizing the then-underground alternative metal genre.

The album was recorded live at the Berkeley Square in Berkeley, California on February 25 and March 5, 1989, on a TASCAM quarter-inch 8-track Portastudio and mixed on Hi-Fi VHS. The band borrowed $3,000 from Claypool's father to cover the recording and pressing of one thousand copies of the album for its initial limited run. They released the record in November 1989 through their own independent label under the name Prawn Song Records before licensing it to Caroline Records in 1990, and later Interscope Records. On April 23, 2002, Prawn Song reissued the album with remastered audio, together with the follow-up studio album Frizzle Fry.

All of the songs would eventually be released as studio recordings: "Tommy the Cat" on Sailing the Seas of Cheese in 1991, "Pressman" (as "The Pressman") on Pork Soda in 1993, "Jellikit" on the Airheads soundtrack in 1994 as "Bastardizing Jellikit", and "The Heckler" on Antipop in 1999 as a hidden track. All other tracks were included on the band's debut studio album Frizzle Fry in 1990.


A1 John The Fisherman 
A2 Groundhog’s Day 
A3 The Heckler 
A4 Pressman 
A5 Jellikit 
B1 Tommy The Cat 
B2 Pudding Time 
B3 Harold Of The Rocks 
B4 Frizzle Fry

SKU: 0196006484095