Porcupine Tree – Stupid Dream (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2021 remastered reissue.

Stupid Dream is the fifth studio album by British progressive rock band Porcupine Tree. It was first released in March 1999, and then re-released on 15 May 2006 due to the band's rising popularity on major record label Lava Records with their releases of In Absentia in 2002 and Deadwing in 2005. The album, along with Lightbulb Sun in 2000, represented a transitional period for the band, moving away from the band's earlier work in instrumental and psychedelic music, but before they took a more metal direction in 2002 onwards. The album takes a commercially accessible pop rock sound while still retaining heavy progressive rock influences.

The album's title is a reference to frontman Steven Wilson's view of the music industry; while many aspire to be a musician for fame and glamorous lifestyle, he feels it's a "stupid dream" because it actually leads to a life of hard work and struggle.


A1 Even Less
A2 Piano Lessons
A3 Stupid Dream
A4 Pure Narcotic
B1 Slave Called Shiver
B2 Don't Hate Me
C1 This Is No Rehearsal
C2 Baby Dream In Cellophane
C3 Stranger By The Minute
C4 A Smart Kid
D1 Tinto Brass
D2 Stop Swimming

SKU: 802644821214