Porcupine Tree – Signify (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2021 reissue of the 2016 Steven Wilson remaster. Gatefold jacket.

Signify is the fourth studio album by British progressive rock band Porcupine Tree. It was released in September 1996 and later re-released in 2003 with a second disc of demos, which had previously been released on the b-side cassette tape Insignificance, and a third time, on vinyl, on 9 May 2011. It was the first album that frontman Steven Wilson recorded with the band on board from the beginning; previous albums had been essentially solo efforts with occasional help from other musicians.

In addition to the change in sound coming from it being the first collaborative, full band album as a whole, the album marked a transition in genre as well. The band's first three albums were characterized as being psychedelic rock and experimental space rock. This album still retains these qualities, but at the same time, moves closer to a more structured, radio-friendly and commercial sound, a style of progressive rock that the band explored in a much stronger way in the band's subsequent albums Stupid Dream and Lightbulb Sun. The album has been described as "...the end of an era, while simultaneously ushering in the dawn of a new age...It contains sprawling, vague instrumental tunes as well as more straightforward, cleverly written songs with a clear-cut song structure. A precursor to Stupid Dream and an epilogue to Porcupine Tree's psychedelic past." PopMatters later reflected that the album would become to be known as the band's krautrock album.


A1 Bornlivedie
A2 Signify
A3 Sleep Of No Dreaming
A4 Pagan
A5 Waiting Phase One
B1 Waiting Phase Two
B2 Sever
B3 Idiot Prayer
C1 Every Home Is Wired
C2 Intermediate Jesus
D1 "Light Mass Prayers"
D2 Dark Matter

SKU: 0802644819211