PJ Harvey – White Chalk (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2021 reissue on 180 gram vinyl. Plays back at 45 rpm.

White Chalk is the seventh studio album by English singer-songwriter and musician PJ Harvey, released on 24 September 2007 on Island Records. Work on the album started in 2006, with producer Flood and John Parish, who also worked on her To Bring You My Love and Is This Desire? albums. Other collaborators on White Chalk are Eric Drew Feldman and Jim White from Dirty Three.

The first single released from White Chalk was "When Under Ether" on 17 September 2007 on digital download and 7" vinyl. A second single, "The Piano," was released on 26 November 2007. A third, "The Devil," was released on 7", download, and CD formats in March 2008.

White Chalk received critical acclaim and has a score of 80 out of 100 on Metacritic. Uncut hailed the album in glowing terms, calling it "an album of lonely beauty and piercing sorrow" before concluding, "White Chalk is P.J. Harvey back at the peak of her considerable powers." The Observer gave the album 5 stars out of 5, while Robert Christgau picked out one song from the album, "When Under Ether", as a "choice cut"


A1 The Devil
A2 Dear Darkness
A3 Grow Grow Grow
A4 When Under Ether
A5 White Chalk
B1 Broken Harp
B2 Silence
B3 To Talk To You
B4 The Piano
B5 Before Departure
B6 The Mountain

SKU: 0602507253479