Peter Gabriel – Peter Gabriel (New Vinyl) (Half-Speed Mastered)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2016 half-speed remastered reissue.

Peter Gabriel (also known as Peter Gabriel I, or "Car") is the debut studio album by the English singer-songwriter and producer Peter Gabriel, released on 25 February 1977 by Charisma Records. After his departure from the progressive rock band Genesis was made public in 1975, Gabriel took a break to concentrate on his family life. In 1976, he began writing material for a solo album and met producer Bob Ezrin, who agreed to produce it. Gabriel hired several additional musicians to play on the album, including guitarist Robert Fripp and bassist Tony Levin. The album was later known as Peter Gabriel I or Car, referring to the album's artwork produced by Hipgnosis.

Upon the album's release, it peaked at No. 7 on the UK Albums Chart and No. 38 on the US Billboard 200. It has since reached Gold certification in both countries for selling 100,000 and 500,000 copies, respectively. The song "Solsbury Hill" was the first single from the album, and peaked at No. 13 in the UK. Gabriel supported the album with a tour of Europe and the US through 1977, featuring a seven-piece band including Fripp and Levin. The album was remastered in 2002 and 2011.


A1 Moribund The Burgermeister
A2 Solsbury Hill
A3 Modern Love
A4 Excuse Me
A5 Humdrum
B1 Slowburn
B2 Waiting For The Big One
B3 Down The Dolce Vita
B4 Here Comes The Flood

SKU: 0884108004142