Pearl Jam – Backspacer (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2023 reissue. Die cut jacket. Contains 24-page full-sized (11.75" x 11.75") full-color booklet containing lyrics and cartoon drawings.

Backspacer is the ninth studio album by the American rock band Pearl Jam, released on September 20, 2009. The band members started writing instrumental and demo tracks in 2007, and got together the following year to work on an album. It was recorded from February through April 2009 with producer Brendan O'Brien, who had worked on every Pearl Jam album except their 1991 debut Ten and 2006's self-titled record—although this was his first production credit since 1998's Yield. Material was recorded at Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles, California, and O'Brien's own Southern Tracks Recording in Atlanta, Georgia. The album—the shortest of the band's career—features lyrics with a more optimistic look than the politically infused predecessors Riot Act and Pearl Jam, something frontman Eddie Vedder attributed to the election of Barack Obama.

The band released the album through its own label Monkeywrench Records with worldwide distribution by Universal Music Group via a licensing agreement with Island Records. Physical copies of the record were sold through Target in North America, and promotion included a deal with Verizon, a world tour, and moderately successful singles "The Fixer" and "Got Some"/"Just Breathe". Reviews for Backspacer were largely positive, praising the sound and composition, and the album became Pearl Jam's first chart topper in the U.S. Billboard 200 since 1996's No Code, while also topping the charts in Canada, Australia and New Zealand.


A1 Gonna See My Friend 
A2 Got Some 
A3 The Fixer 
A4 Johnny Guitar 
A5 Just Breathe
A6 Amongst The Waves 
B1 Unthought Known 
B2 Supersonic 
B3 Speed Of Sound 
B4 Force Of Nature 
B5 The End

SKU: 0804879169413