Neil Young – Carnegie Hall 1970 (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy.

Over Neil Young’s long and storied career, a few special shows have earned an almost mythic reputation, thanks to the dubious but nevertheless appreciated (in retrospect) practice of bootlegging.

Shakey Pictures Records and Reprise Records are now happy to announce the first of a new series - ‘The Neil Young Official Bootleg Series - Carnegie Hall 1970’, available on double vinyl. Carnegie Hall, the first release, recorded on original analog multitrack, was mixed by “The Volume Dealers” - Neil Young and Niko Bolas.
This recording was made from the show on December 4th 1970 and it was the first time Neil ever walked onstage at Carnegie Hall.

There were two shows at Carnegie Hall, one on the 4th and one followed at Midnight the next morning. No bootleggers ever captured this first show, and it was, by far, a much superior show according to Neil Young. The concert’s generous setlist covers one of the most revered eras of Young’s career, with stripped-down versions of the tunes ‘Down By the River’, ‘Helpless’ and ‘Sugar Mountain’ plus 'After the Gold Rush', from the album of the same name, released only nine weeks prior to the Carnegie Hall show. Neil even plays the poignant songs ‘Bad Fog of Loneliness”, “Old Man’
and ‘See the Sky About to Rain’ before they were recorded and released. Carnegie Hall is an album full of gems.


A1 Down By The River
A2 Cinnamon Girl
A3 I Am A Child
A4 Expecting To Fly
A5 The Loner
A6 Wondering
B1 Helpless
B2 Southern Man
B3 Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing
B4 Sugar Mountain
C1 On The Way Home
C2 Tell Me Why
C3 Only Love Can Break Your Heart
C4 Old Man
C5 After The Goldrush
C6 Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
D1 Cowgirl in The Sand
D2 Don't Let It Bring You Down
D3 Birds
D4 Bad Fog Of Loneliness
D5 Ohio
D6 See The Sky About To Rain
D7 Dance Dance Dance

SKU: 0093624885153