MGMT – Congratulations (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2014 repress on 180 gram vinyl. 

Congratulations is the second studio album by American rock band MGMT. It was initially made available for free streaming through the band's website on March 20, 2010, prior to its official release on April 13 through Columbia Records. The album marks a departure from the synth-pop style that brought MGMT acclaim on their debut, Oracular Spectacular, released three years prior, and features a more psychedelic, progressive and guitar-driven sound.

Most of the songs were written by the band in early 2009. They eventually headed to a Malibu studio to work on Congratulations, along with former Spacemen 3 member Peter Kember, known professionally as Sonic Boom. Vocal contributions from Royal Trux singer Jennifer Herrema were also recorded for the album. Andrew VanWyngarden has stated that the album is influenced by the band's massive rise in popularity since Oracular Spectacular's release. "It's us trying to deal with all the craziness that's been going on since our last album took off. Sometimes it just doesn't feel natural".

Congratulations debuted at number two on the US Billboard 200 with 66,000 copies sold in its first week, marking the best sales week for the band. As of June 2013, it had sold 219,000 copies in the United States. The album debuted at number four on the UK Albums Chart, selling 17,000 copies in its first week.


A1 It's Working 
A2 Song For Dan Treacy 
A3 Someone's Missing 
B1 Flash Delirium 
B2 I Found A Whistle 
C1 Siberian Breaks 
D1 Brian Eno 
D2 Lady Dada's Nightmare 
D3 Congratulations

SKU: 0888430453319