Metallica – St. Anger (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2014 reissue. Gatefold jacket.

St. Anger is the eighth studio album by American heavy metal band Metallica, released on June 5, 2003. It was the last Metallica album released through Elektra Records and the final collaboration between Metallica and longtime producer Bob Rock, with whom the band had worked since 1990. This is also Metallica's only album as an official trio, as bassist Jason Newsted left the band prior to the recording sessions; Rock played bass in Newsted's place. It is also the only Metallica album to be marked with a Parental Advisory sticker.

Recording began in April 2001 but was postponed after rhythm guitarist and vocalist James Hetfield entered rehabilitation for alcoholism and various other addictions, and did not resume until May 2002. The recording is the subject of the 2004 documentary film Metallica: Some Kind of Monster. St. Anger departed from Metallica's signature style with an alternative metal style, raw production, metallic drum sound, and no guitar solos. The artwork was created by frequent Metallica collaborator Pushead.

St. Anger was intended for release on June 10, 2003, but was released five days earlier due to concerns over unlicensed distribution via peer-to-peer file sharing networks. Despite mixed reviews, it debuted at the top of sales charts in 14 countries, including the US Billboard 200. After release, Metallica spent two years touring to promote the album. In 2004, the lead single, "St. Anger", won a Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance. St. Anger was certified double platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) for shipping two million copies in the US; it has sold nearly six million copies worldwide.


A1 Frantic 
A2 St. Anger 
A3 Some Kind Of Monster 
B1 Dirty Window 
B2 Invisible Kid 
B3 My World 
C1 Shoot Me Again 
C2 Sweet Amber 
C3 The Unnamed Feeling 
D1 Purify 
D2 All Within My Hands

SKU: 0856115004682