Metallica – Death Magnetic (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2014 reissue. Gatefold jacket.

Death Magnetic is the ninth studio album by American heavy metal band Metallica, released on September 12, 2008, through Warner Bros. Records. The album was produced by Rick Rubin, marking the band's first album since ...And Justice for All (1988) not to be produced by longtime collaborator Bob Rock and co-produced by Hetfield and Ulrich. It is also the first Metallica album to feature bassist Robert Trujillo, and the second to share writing credit to all of the band's members.

Metallica began writing music for a new album in 2006, later recording the album at different studios across Los Angeles County, California, from March 2007 to May 2008. Musically, Death Magnetic is a radical departure from Metallica's previous album, St. Anger (2003), and is considered a return to the band's thrash metal roots, with more complex compositions, standard guitar tuning on most songs and long guitar solos from Kirk Hammett and James Hetfield. It also includes the band's first instrumental piece, "Suicide & Redemption", since "To Live Is to Die" from ...And Justice for All.

Death Magnetic made Metallica the first band to achieve five consecutive number-one studio albums on the U.S. Billboard 200. The album received positive reviews, but its production was criticized as overcompressed and cited as a product of the loudness war. The album and its songs were nominated for six Grammy Awards (five in 2009 and one in 2010) and won three, including Best Metal Performance for "My Apocalypse".


A1 That Was Just Your Life 
A2 The End Of The Line 
A3 Broken, Beat & Scarred 
B1 The Day That Never Comes 
B2 All Nightmare Long 
C1 Cyanide 
C2 The Unforgiven III 
C3 The Judas Kiss 
D1 Suicide & Redemption 
D2 My Apocalypse