Matthew Sweet – Catspaw (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy.

Catspaw is the fifteenth studio album by American singer-songwriter Matthew Sweet. It was released on January 15, 2021, through Omnivore Recordings. Recording and instrumentation for the album was completed in 2019, while in Sweet's home studio, prior to the COVID-19 pandemic. Velvet Crush drummer Ric Menck collaborates on majority of the songs through the album. The first single "Stars Explode" was released on December 12, 2020.

In his review for AllMusic, Matt Collar wrote:  "Matthew Sweet's 15th studio album and third since moving from Los Angeles to his home state of Nebraska, 2021's Catspaw finds him further digging into his anthemic power pop and tube-amp guitar wizardry. Catspaw is a darker, rawer-sounding album than both of its predecessors, with a more focused and uniform aesthetic. Part of this focus comes from Sweet playing all of the instruments except for drums, which were supplied by his longtime collaborator and Velvet Crush member Ric Menck."


A1 Blown Away 
A2 Give A Little 
A3 Challenge The Gods 
A4 Come Home 
A5 Drifting 
A6 Best Of Me 
B1 Stars Explode 
B2 Hold On Tight 
B3 At A Loss 
B4 No Surprise 
B5 Coming Soon 
B6 Parade Of Lights

SKU: 0816651019441