Jimmy Eat World – Clarity (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2015 reissue.

Clarity is the third studio album by American rock band Jimmy Eat World. It was released on February 23, 1999, through Capitol Records, with which Jimmy Eat World clashed several times while recording their second studio album Static Prevails (1996). The band recorded a follow-up with producer Mark Trombino in May and June 1998, and were free to make it however they wanted without interference from Capitol. The recording sessions began at Sound City in Van Nuys, California, before moving to Clear Lake Audio in North Hollywood, California. Clarity, which is described as an emo, pop-punk, and punk rock release, marked the beginning of frontman Jim Adkins' tenure as the band's main vocalist, taking over from guitarist Tom Linton.

Following the release of Jimmy Eat World's self-titled second EP (1998), "Lucky Denver Mint" began airing on radio in January 1999. "Lucky Denver Mint" and "Blister" were released as singles in 1999; a music video was later made for the former, which was directed by Darren Doane. Jimmy Eat World went on a six-week tour of the United States, and appeared on that year's Warped Tour. In spite of promotion for "Lucky Denver Mint", Clarity was deemed a commercial failure, and Capitol dropped the band in August 1999. The band then toured Europe, and played three US shows before going on a break. Clarity was released worldwide in 2001, where it was promoted with "Lucky Denver Mint" and "Blister". The album has been re-released several times, and has been performed in its entirety by the band on multiple occasions.

Clarity reached number 30 on the US Billboard Heatseekers Albums chart, and peaked at number 47 in Germany. The album received favorable reviews from music critics, many of whom praised the dynamic instrumentation. The album has since amassed cult status and critical acclaim, and has been lauded as one of the best emo albums of all time by publications such as Kerrang!, LA Weekly, and Rolling Stone. Some music critics have credited the album as a huge influence on later acts such as Something Corporate, the Wonder Years, and Chris Carrabba of Dashboard Confessional.


A1 Table For Glasses
A2 Lucky Denver Mint 
A3 Your New Aesthetic
A4 Believe In What You Want
B1 A Sunday
B2 Crush 
B3 12.23.95
B4 Ten
C1 Just Watch The Fireworks
C2 For Me This Is Heaven
C3 Blister
C4 Clarity
D1 Goodbye Sky Harbor
D2 Christmas Card
D3 Sweetness (Studio Demo)

SKU: 0602547473646