Janet Jackson – Janet. (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2019 reissue. 

Janet (stylized as janet.) is the fifth studio album by American singer Janet Jackson, released on May 18, 1993, by Virgin Records America. Prior to its release, Jackson was at the center of a high-profile bidding war over her recording contract. In 1991, her original label A&M sought to renew her contract, while others, such as Atlantic, Capitol, and Virgin all vied to sign her. After meeting with Virgin owner Richard Branson, she signed with the label. The contract was worth an estimated $40 million, making her the world's then-highest paid musical act.

Criticism that her success in the music industry was attributed to being a member of the Jackson family and a producer-dependent artist led her to write all lyrics for the album, in addition to co-producing every song and co-writing each of their arrangements with Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis. Its title, read "Janet, period.", is meant to disassociate her public image from her family, dropping her surname. An R&B record, Janet incorporated pop, hip hop, opera, house and jazz, eliminating the rigid, industrial sound of her previous records. Lyrically, the theme of Janet is sexual intimacy—an abrupt departure from her conservative image. Much of her lyrics emphasize a woman's perspective on sexuality and the demand for practicing safe sex.

In the United States, Janet became the singer's third consecutive album to top the Billboard 200 and her first to debut at number one. Selling 350,000 copies in its first week, it set a record for the highest first week sales for a female artist at that time. Certified sixfold platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA), it has sold over seven million copies in the US according to Nielsen SoundScan. Internationally, Janet topped the record charts in Australia, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the United Kingdom, and has sold an estimated 14 million copies worldwide.

Janet remains one of only seven albums in history to produce six top-ten hits on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart, including the number-one singles "That's the Way Love Goes" and "Again". The MTV-sponsored Janet World Tour supporting the album received critical acclaim for Jackson's elaborate stage performances, reinforcing her reputation as one of the preeminent artists of the MTV generation. Janet cemented her as an international icon and sex symbol, and is listed by the National Association of Recording Merchandisers and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as one of the 200 Definitive Albums of All Time. Academics argued the erotic imagery in her music videos have contributed to a higher degree of sexual freedom among women.


A1 Morning 
A2 That's The Way Love Goes 
A3 You Know... 
A4 You Want This 
A5 Be A Good Boy... 
A6 If 
B1 Back 
B2 This Time
B3 Go On Miss Janet 
B4 Throb 
B5 What'll I Do
B6 The Lounge 
B7 Funky Big Band 
C1 Racism 
C2 New Agenda
C3 Love Pt. 2 
C4 Because Of Love 
C5 Wind 
C6 Again 
C7 Another Lover 
C8 Where Are You Now 
D1 Hold On Baby 
D2 The Body That Loves You 
D3 Rain 
D4 Any Time, Any Place 
D5 Are You Still Up 
D6 Sweet Dreams/Whoops Now

SKU: 0602577837692