Jack Johnson – Brushfire Fairytales (New Vinyl) (20th Anniversary)



New sealed copy. 2020 20th Anniversary reissue.

Brushfire Fairytales is the debut album by singer-songwriter Jack Johnson. It was released in 2001 through Enjoy Records, a label that was later renamed Everloving Recordings.

The album's primary musicians are Johnson (vocals/guitars/piano), Adam Topol (drums/percussion) and Merlo Podlewski (bass). It was produced by J. P. Plunier, recorded and mixed by Todd Burke, with assistant engineers Andrew Alekel & Chad Essig. It was recorded near Hollywood and Vine just north of 6400 Sunset at 1520 N Cahuenga in Los Angeles at Grandmaster Recorders (formerly Bijou Studios in Hollywood), King Sound, and mastered by Dave Collins. Guests include Tommy Jordan (steel drums on "Flake") and Ben Harper (slide guitar on "Flake"). The single "Flake" was Jack Johnson's first.

In a retrospective review by The Quietus, reviewer David Bennun credits Brushfire Fairytales with helping to popularize a strain of "sensitive [and] authentic... indie-folk" that would later lead to artists such as Ed Sheeran, Passenger, and Mumford & Sons.


A1 Inaudible Melodies
A2 Middle Man
A3 Posters
A4 Sexy Plexi
A5 Flake
A6 Bubbles Toes
A7 Fortunate Fool
B1 The News
B2 Drink The Water
B3 Mudfootball (for Moe Lerner)
B4 F-Stop Blues
B5 Losing Hope
B6 It’s All Understood

SKU: 634457005044