Green River – Dry As A Bone (New Vinyl) (Deluxe Edition)



New sealed copy. Deluxe Edition reissue.

The story of Seattle’s rise to global rock supremacy in the late ’80s and early ’90s begins with Green River. Made up of Jeff Ament (bass), Mark Arm (guitar/vocals), Bruce Fairweather (guitar), Stone Gossard (guitar), and Alex Shumway (drums), the quintet put out three 12”s and a 7” single during its brief existence. Green River’s influence on Seattle’s music scene spread far and wide thanks to the members’ dispersion into bands including Pearl Jam, Mudhoney, and Love Battery, as well as the punk-glam-sludge-rock songs they left behind.

Green River, which formed in 1984, was part of that evolution, with a sound that straddled a lot of different genres—blues, punk, bloozy straight-ahead rock. The mini-LP Dry As A Bone, which came out in 1987, and the band’s lone full-length Rehab Doll, which came out in 1988, were released as a single CD with a few bonus cuts, including their sneering cover of David Bowie’s “Queen Bitch” and their marauding version of Dead Boys’ “Ain’t Nothin’ to Do,” in 1990—but they’ve been unavailable on vinyl for years. Now, these slices of Seattle music history are not only back in print, they’re accompanied by items from the vaults that had been forgotten about for decades.


A1 This Town
A3 Ozzie
A4 One More Stitch (Bone Bonus)
B5 Unwind 
B6 Baby Takes 
B7 Searchin' (Bone Bonus) 
B8 Hangin' Tree (Bone Bonus) 
C9 Together We'll Never 
C10 Ain't Nothin' To Do
C11 Bleeding Sheep 
C12 Bazaar 
D13 Thrown Up 
D14 This Little Boy 
D15 10000 Things (Deep Six) 
D16 Your Own Best Friend (Deep Six)

SKU: 98787126112