Franz Ferdinand – Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. Gatefold cover.

Tonight: Franz Ferdinand is the third studio album by Scottish indie rock band Franz Ferdinand, released on 26 January 2009 through the Domino Recording Company. In contrast to their speedily-recorded second studio album, You Could Have It So Much Better (2005), the band chose to take some time off before recording a new album. Writing sessions began in early 2007 and recording took place in 2008 at the town hall of Govan, Scotland, and producer Dan Carey's studio in South London.

Tonight has been described as a concept album loosely based around a night of partying and the morning effects after. The album has more of a dance-oriented sound, featuring dance-punk, new wave, and electropop throughout, marking a departure from the band's post-punk sound, which was prominently featured on their past two albums. They also took inspiration from dub music and the music of Jamaica and Africa while recording. The cover art was inspired by 1940s and 50s crime scene photographs, particularly ones taken by New York City-based photographer Weegee.

Tonight received generally favourable reviews from music critics and had a positive commercial performance, peaking at number two on the UK Albums Chart, number nine on the US Billboard 200, and charting in the top ten in several other countries. Five official singles were released to promote the album: "Ulysses", "No You Girls", "Can't Stop Feeling", "What She Came For", and "Live Alone".


A1 Ulysses
A2 Turn It On
A3 No You Girls
B1 Send Him Away
B2 Twilight Omens
B3 Bite Hard
C1 What She Came For
C2 Live Alone
C3 Can't Stop Feeling
D1 Lucid Dreams
D2 Dream Again
D3 Katherine Kiss Me

SKU: 5034202020516