Elton John – Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2018 reissue housed in a gatefold jacket.

Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy is the ninth studio album by English musician Elton John. The album is an autobiographical account of the early musical careers of Elton John (Captain Fantastic) and his long-term lyricist Bernie Taupin (the Brown Dirt Cowboy). It was released in May 1975 by MCA Records in America and DJM in the UK and was an instant commercial success. The album was certified gold before its release, and reached No. 1 in its first week of release on the US Billboard 200, the first ever album to achieve both honors. It sold 1.4 million copies within four days of release, and stayed in the top position in the chart for seven weeks.

Though they would all appear on later albums, this was the last album of the 1970s with the original lineup of the Elton John Band (guitarist Davey Johnstone, bassist Dee Murray, and drummer Nigel Olsson). Murray and Olsson, who had formed John's rhythm section since 1970, were fired prior to the recording of the follow-up album Rock of the Westies, while Johnstone would leave in 1978. This was the last album until 1983's Too Low for Zero that Elton John and his classic band would play on together.

In 2003, the album was ranked number 158 on Rolling Stone's list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, maintaining the rating in a 2012 revised list.


A1 Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy
A2 Tower Of Babel
A3 Bitter Fingers
A4 Tell Me When The Whistle Blows
A5 Someone Saved My Life Tonight
B1 (Gotta Get A) Meal Ticket
B2 Better Off Dead
B3 Writing
B4 We All Fall In Love Sometimes
B5 Curtains

SKU: 0602567487135