Elliott Smith – Roman Candle (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2021 reissue.

Roman Candle is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter Elliott Smith. It was recorded in late 1993 and released on July 14, 1994 by record label Cavity Search.

The album was recorded and released while Smith was still in Heatmiser. According to Benjamin Nugent's biography Elliott Smith and the Big Nothing, Smith recorded the album in the basement of the home of then-girlfriend and Heatmiser manager JJ Gonson.

The album was never intended for release, as Smith only expected to get a deal for a 7" single; however, after Gonson played the album for Cavity Search, they immediately requested permission to release it in its entirety. Smith at first hesitated, and then allowed permission.

According to Nugent, the response to Roman Candle was mixed, with some passing it off as being derivative of Simon & Garfunkel, though Roman Candle has since been well received by critics.

In its retrospective review, BBC Music opined that the album "remains a searingly honest and decisive collection. As a genesis of exceptional talent it is flawless, and heartbreakingly so." Consequence of Sound called the album "far from a genius effort, but nonetheless an important solo performance pointing towards where his many strengths and few weaknesses as a singer and songwriter were." Pitchfork has described the album's musical style as "lo-fi folk".


A1 Roman Candle
A2 Condor Ave
A3 No Name #1
A4 No Name #2
A5 No Name #3
B1 Drive All Over Town
B2 No Name #4
B3 Last Call
B4 Kiwi Maddog 20/20

SKU: 759656052313