Drake – Take Care (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2021 reissue.

Take Care is the second studio album by Canadian rapper Drake. It was released on November 15, 2011, by Young Money Entertainment, Cash Money Records and Republic Records. The album features guest appearances from the Weeknd, Rihanna, Kendrick Lamar, Birdman, Nicki Minaj, Rick Ross, Lil Wayne, and André 3000. Alongside prominent production from the album's executive producers Drake and 40, further contributors include T-Minus, Chantal Kreviazuk, Boi-1da, Illangelo, Jamie xx, Supa Dups, Just Blaze, Chase N. Cashe, and Doc McKinney.

Prior to Take Care, Drake released Thank Me Later, which experienced positive critical success, but left him feeling disjointed about the album's musical content. Expressing a desire to reunite with 40, his long-time producer who featured in parts on Thank Me Later, the duo worked extensively on the new album once recording sessions began in 2010. Drake's vocals on the album feature emotional crooning, alto vocals, a guttural cadence, a melodic flow, and a larger emphasis on singing than on Thank Me Later. In comparison to his debut album, Drake revealed that the album is called Take Care because "I get to take my time this go-round [rather than rush]".

The album also expands on the low-tempo, sensuous, and dark sonic aesthetic of Thank Me Later. It incorporates several elements that have come to define Drake's sound, including minimalist R&B influences, existential subject matter, and alternately sung and rapped vocals. It features a mixture of braggadocio and emotional lyrics, exploring themes of fame, romance, and wealth. The album also highlights other topics, such as Drake's relationships with friends and family, as well as touching on sex and narcissism.

Despite leaking online nine days before its scheduled release, Take Care debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, selling 631,000 copies in its first week. It has been certified eight times platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). Four of the album's singles peaked in the top 20 on the Billboard Hot 100: "Headlines", "Make Me Proud", "The Motto" and "Take Care". The album received acclaim from critics, with praise for its expansive production and emotional themes. It was named one of 2011's best albums, and subsequently one of the best albums of the 2010s, by several publications. It won Drake his first Grammy Award, winning Best Rap Album at the 2013 Grammy Awards. In 2020, the album was ranked 95th on Rolling Stone's updated list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.


A1 Over My Dead Body
A2 Shot For Me
A3 Headlines
A4 Crew Love
B1 Care
B2 Marvins Room / Buried Alive (Interlude)b*
B3 Under Ground Kings
B4 We'll Be Fine
C1 Make Me Proud
C2 Lord Knows
C3 Cameras / Good Ones Go (Interlude)
C4 Doing It Wrong
D1 The Real Her
D2 Look What You've Done
D3 HYFR (Hell Ya Fucking Right)
D4 Practice
D5 The Ride

SKU: 0602527867960