Devo – 50 Years Of De-Evolution 1973 - 2023 (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. Contains 25 remastered songs spanning the band's career, Black vinyl, gatefold jacket.

Devo was formed in 1973 by two sets of brothers – Bob and Gerald Casale and Bob and Mark Mothersbaugh – and Alan Myers. The band took its name from the concept of de-evolution – the notion that society is regressing rather than progressing. It was their response to the infamous 1970 shootings at Kent State University, which some band members witnessed while attending the school.

Devo started out performing around Akron, Ohio and garnered early support from David Bowie and Iggy Pop, helping the group secure a deal with Warner Bros. Records. Soon after, the band began working with legendary producer Brian Eno on its 1978 debut, Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!. The album was an underground success despite the mainstream music press overlooking Devo’s insightful cultural satire.

A year later, the band returned with Duty Now for the Future before achieving mainstream recognition in 1980 with its platinum-certified third album, Freedom of Choice, which included the hit single “Whip It.” The song’s iconic music video became a fixture on MTV, contributing to Devo’s growing popularity in the 1980s. That decade saw the band release more hits (“Beautiful World” and “That’s Good”) and a string of memorable studio albums: New Traditionalist (1981), Oh No! It’s Devo (1982), Shout! (1984), and Total Devo (1988). After 1990’s Smooth Noodle Maps, the band took an extended hiatus to pursue film and television projects before returning in 2010 with Something for Everybody.

Today, Devo’s innovative music and thought-provoking performances are celebrated for their profound influence on generations of new-wave, industrial, and electronic artists. 50 YEARS OF DE-EVOLUTION (1973-2023) stands as a testament to the band’s legacy, compiling key tracks from all nine of Devo’s studio albums, as well as rarities like the 1974 demo for “I’m A Potato” and single mixes for “Come Back Jonee,” “Snowball,” and “What We Do.”


A1 Mongoloid (Warner Version) 
A2 Jocko Homo (Warner Version)
A3 (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction 
A4 Come Back Jonee (Single Edit)
A5 Secret Agent Man
A6 The Day My Baby Gave Me a Surprize
B1 Smart Patrol 
B2 Girl U Want 
B3 Whip It 
B4 Freedom of Choice 
B5 Gates of Steel
B6 Working in the Coal Mine 
C1 Beautiful World 
C2 Jerkin' Back 'n' Forth 
C3 Through Being Cool 
C4 Love Without Anger 
C5 Time Out for Fun 
C6 PeekABoo! 
C7 That's Good 
D1 Big Mess 
D2 Here to Go (Go Mix Version) 
D3 Are You Experienced? 
D4 Disco Dancer (7-Inch Version) 
D5 Post Post-Modern Man (Macro Post-Modern Mix)
D6 Fresh 

SKU: 0603497831333