Death Cab For Cutie ‎– Transatlanticism (New Vinyl) (20th Anniversary)



New sealed copy. 2023 20th anniversary reissue. Anniversary edition on 180 gram discs in gatefold sleeve. Comes with sticker, download code for album and demos on reverse. Includes 12-page full color booklet including lyrics, credits, and artwork.

Transatlanticism is the fourth studio album by indie rock band Death Cab for Cutie, released on October 7, 2003 by Barsuk Records. At this point in their career, the group had toured and recorded for nearly a half-decade. With tensions rising, the band decided to take time away from one another; notably, Ben Gibbard collaborated with electronic musician Dntel (Jimmy Tamborello), and released an album, Give Up, under the name the Postal Service. Death Cab regrouped in late 2002 to create Transatlanticism, which was recorded in a leisurely manner over five-day stretches until June 2003.

The record is a concept album, exploring a theme of long-distance romance. Gibbard penned the lyrics, which are somber and focus on the need to be loved. Musically, the album utilizes ambience and instrumental sparseness as an extension of this theme. The album's title, likewise, references the Atlantic Ocean and uses it as a metaphor for geographic and emotional separation. Chris Walla, the band's guitarist, produced the album as he had for its predecessors. The album's artwork was created by artist Adde Russell.


A1 The New Year

A2 Lightness

A3 Title And Registration

B1 Expo '86

B2 The Sound Of Settling

B3 Tiny Vessels

C1 Transatlanticism

C2 Passenger Seat

D1 Death Of An Interior Decorator

D2 We Looked Like Giants

D3 A Lack Of Color

SKU: 655173303214