David Bowie ‎– Low (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. Remastered reissue on 180 gram black vinyl.

Low is the 11th studio album by English musician David Bowie, released on 14 January 1977 by RCA Records. After years of drug addiction and personal instability living in Los Angeles, Bowie escaped to France in 1976 with his friend and singer Iggy Pop to become sober. After meeting musician Brian Eno the same year, Bowie began recording the first of three collaborations with Eno and producer Tony Visconti later named the "Berlin Trilogy". Low was mostly recorded from September to November 1976, sessions beginning at the Château d'Hérouville in Hérouville, France and ending at the Hansa Tonstudios in West Berlin following Bowie and Pop's move there.

The music on Low is grounded in art rock and experimental rock, and features Bowie's first explorations in electronic and ambient styles. It is influenced by the German music scene, particularly bands such as Tangerine Dream, Neu!, Harmonia and Kraftwerk. Side one consists primarily of short, direct avant-pop song-fragments while side two consists of longer, mostly instrumental tracks. The album features a distinctive drum sound, which was created by Visconti through the use of the Eventide H910 Harmonizer. The cover artwork, a side profile of Bowie in character as Thomas Jerome Newton from The Man Who Fell to Earth (1976), was intended to be a visual pun meaning 'low profile'.


A1 Speed Of Life

A2 Breaking Glass

A3 What In The World

A4 Sound And Vision

A5 Always Crashing In The Same Car

A6 Be My Wife

Bass – George Murray

A7 A New Career In A New Town

B1 Warszawa

B2 Art Decade

B3 Weeping Wall

B4 Subterraneans