Dave Matthews Band – Before These Crowded Streets (New Vinyl)


New sealed copy. 2023 25th anniversary remastered reissue. Pressed for the first time on vinyl since its initial release in 1998.

Before These Crowded Streets is the third studio album by American band Dave Matthews Band. It was released on April 28, 1998, through RCA Records. The album was produced by Steve Lillywhite, his last collaboration with the group until 2012's Away from the World. Recording took place at The Plant Recording Studios in Sausalito, California and Electric Lady Studios in New York.

Taking its title from a line in "The Dreaming Tree", the album marked a shift in the band's sound, having darker themes and textures and more complex arrangements. Certain songs see the band apply polyrhythms and Middle-Eastern scales. Numerous guests are featured on the album, including Béla Fleck, Alanis Morissette and the Kronos Quartet. Additionally, guitarist Tim Reynolds guests on every track; he would later join the band as a full-time member. Lyrically, the album tackles both personal and socio-political themes, such as war in "The Last Stop" and the slaughter of Native Americans in "Don't Drink the Water".

Before These Crowded Streets was a critical and commercial success. The album debuted at the top of the Billboard 200, selling 421,000 units in its first week of release and knocking the Titanic soundtrack from the top of the chart after a run of 16 consecutive weeks at number one. Three singles were released from the album—"Don't Drink the Water", "Stay (Wasting Time)", and "Crush"—all of which received varying levels of commercial success.


A1 Pantala Naga Pampa
A2 Rapunzel
A3 The Last Stop
A4 Don't Drink The Water
B1 Stay (Wasting Time)
B2 Halloween
B3 The Stone
C1 Crush
C2 The Dreaming Tree
D1 Pig
D2 Spoon
SKU: 0190759901519