Dan Mangan – Oh Fortune (New Vinyl) (Deluxe Edition)



New sealed copy. 2022 10th Anniversary deluxe edition.

Oh Fortune is the Juno Award-winning third album by Canadian singer-songwriter Dan Mangan, released on September 27, 2011 on the Arts & Crafts label. The album debuted on the Billboard Canadian Albums Chart the week of October 15, 2011, at number nine.

The album is the follow-up to 2009's Nice, Nice, Very Nice, which was short-listed for the Polaris Prize. In contrast to its predecessor's sparse acoustic guitar, Oh Fortune relies more often on fuller orchestral arrangements, described by Now Magazine's Carla Gillis as "expansive, epic orchestral indie rock". It has also been described as having a darker emotional and lyrical tone, comparable to its namesake poem "O Fortuna", without becoming too grim. David Berry of the National Post describes the album's theme as "a kind of bald appraisal of the situation that packs it full of so much more — meaning, weight, beauty, humour — than your typical singer-songwriter’s over-emotive pigeonholing".

At the 2012 Juno Awards, Mangan received the award for Alternative Album of the Year for Oh Fortune.


Oh Fortune
A1 About As Helpful As You Can Be Without Being Any Help At All
A2 How Darwinian
A3 Post-War Blues
A4 If I Am Dead
A5 Daffodil
A6 Starts With Them, Ends With Us
B1 Oh Fortune
B2 Leaves, Trees, Forest
B3 Rows Of Houses
B4 Regarding Death And Dying
B5 Jeopardy
Bonus Material
C1 Faults
C2 Si Je Suis Mort / If I Am Dead (Demo)
C3 Oh Fortune (Demo)
C4 Daffodil (Demo)
C5 Leaves, Trees, Forest (Band Rehearsal 2011)
D1 We Want To Be Pleasantly Surprised, Not Expectedly Let Down
D2 Rows Of Houses (Live In 2012)
D3 Starts With Them, Ends With Us (Live In 2012)
D4 About As Helpful As You Can Be Without Being Any Help At All (Live At SiriusXM 2012)
D5 Jeopardy (Demo)

SKU: 0827590620049