Curtis Mayfield – Curtis (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. Remastered reissue on 180 gram black vinyl. Gatefold sleeve.

Curtis is the debut album by American soul musician Curtis Mayfield, released in September 1970. Produced by Mayfield, it was released on his own label Curtom Records. The musical styles of Curtis moved further away from the pop-soul sounds of Mayfield's previous group The Impressions and featured more of a funk and psychedelic-influenced sound. The album's subject matter incorporates political and social concerns of the time.

Curtis sold well at the time charting at number one on the Billboard Black albums (for five nonconsecutive weeks) and number nineteen on the Billboard Pop albums charts. Only the single "(Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go" charted in the United States; however, an edited version of "Move On Up" would spend 10 weeks in the top 50 of the UK Singles Chart.

In 2020, the album was ranked at number 275 on Rolling Stone's 500 greatest albums of all time list.


A1 (Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below We're All Going To Go 
A2 The Other Side Of Town 
A3 The Makings Of You 
A4 We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue 
B1 Move On Up 
B2 Miss Black America 
B3 Wild And Free 
B4 Give It Up