Chico Hamilton – The Dealer (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2024 Verve By Request reissue on 180 gram vinyl. Gatefold cover with poly-lined inner sleeve.

The Dealer is a 1966 album by jazz drummer/bandleader Chico Hamilton. It was first released by Impulse! Records (AS-9130) and has been subsequently reissued on CD with the addition of bonus tracks from Chic Chic Chico, Definitive Jazz Scene Vol. 3 and Passin' Thru. The bonus tracks feature different line-ups to that of the album, including Charles Lloyd and Gábor Szabó. The bonus track, "El Toro" is also featured on the Impulsive! Unmixed compilation.

All tracks are originals, composed by Hamilton and some arranged by Jimmy Cheatham. The exceptions are "For Mods Only", composed by free jazz saxophonist Archie Shepp, who features on the track playing piano; some licks played by guitarist, Larry Coryell, from which Mick Taylor (of Bluesbreakers and The Rolling Stones) later used with The Stones; and "Larry of Arabia" by Larry Coryell, here supposedly making his first recording.


A1        The Dealer
A2        For Mods Only
A3        A Trip
A4        Baby, You Know
B1        Larry Of Arabia
B2        Thoughts
B3        Jim-Jeannie

SKU: 0602458940800