Buena Vista Social Club – Buena Vista Social Club (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2015 remastered reissue on 180 gram black vinyl. Includes:
• The original album remastered by Bernie Grundman
• 20 page booklet featuring new liner notes, photos, song notes & lyrics

Buena Vista Social Club is the debut album by the eponymous ensemble of Cuban musicians directed by Juan de Marcos González and American guitarist Ry Cooder. It was recorded at Havana's EGREM studios in March 1996 and released on September 16, 1997, on World Circuit. Despite its success, it remains the only standard studio album exclusively credited to the Buena Vista Social Club.

Buena Vista Social Club was recorded in parallel with A toda Cuba le gusta by the Afro-Cuban All Stars, a similar project also promoted by World Circuit executive Nick Gold and featuring largely the same lineup. In contrast to A toda Cuba le gusta, which was conceived as a revival of the son conjunto, Buena Vista Social Club was meant to bring back the traditional trova and filin, a mellower take on the Cuban son and bolero, as well as the danzón.

A critical and commercial success, the album's release was followed by a short concert tour in Amsterdam and New York's Carnegie Hall in 1998. Footage from these dates, together with the recording sessions in Havana, were shown on the Buena Vista Social Club documentary by Wim Wenders, released in 1999.


A1 Chan Chan
A2 De Camino A La Vereda
A3 El Cuarto De Tula
A4 Pueblo Nuevo
B1 Dos Gardenias
B2 ¿Y Tú Qué Has Hecho?
B3 Veinte Años
B4 El Carretero
B5 Candela
C1 Amor De Loca Juventud
C2 Orgullecida
C3 Murmullo
C4 Buena Vista Social Club
C5 La Bayamesa

SKU: 075597951684